Spirit Week 2016

What a week! This past week it was spirit week at my school, and it was a lot of fun. Spirit week is basically a whole week of fun and games. Each day, every grade level is assigned a different theme/costume to dress up as, and then at every lunch there is a rally full of cheering and activities out on the football field. I think my favorite part of Spirit Week would have to be how it unifies the school together. Even though we are mildly putting different grade levels down in our cheers, we are all still coming together to celebrate and enjoy ourselves.

So here’s a quick overview on Spirit Week 2016…

Monday…ย ๐Ÿš’

Monday was class themes day. Each grade level had their own theme that relates to a specific color. For example, the sophomore color was red, and so we chose our theme to be fire fighters. This theme actually ended up being really great because it’s relatively easy to dress up for, ย a great theme for making cheers at the rallies, and you could relate lots of things to fire. I was surprised to see that some of my fellow classmates actually wore real fire fighter attire; suit and everything. That was really impressive, and it made my red t-shirt, black pants, and plastic fire hat look a little pathetic. But that’s the thing about spirit week, people won’t judge you. As long as your showing a little bit of spirit, it’s still spirit. And also spirit week gives you an excuse to look totally crazy. Some people even go naked… well at least those streakers do…

fullsizerender-1

Tuesday…Face With Cowboy Hat on Google Android 7.1

Tuesday had kind of a wacky theme. It was salad dressing themed(IKR…). Freshman were Healthy Choice, sophomores were Ranch, juniors were Thousand Island, and seniors were Greek. I have to say, whoever came up with that theme had to have been very creative. For Ranch, sophomores dressed up as cowboys. Simple and doable. We all looked really great with our cowboy hats on.

IMG_3975.JPG

Wednesday…๐ŸŒœ

We didn’t have school Wednesday! Well, the Juniors did because they were taking the PSAT, but all the other grade levels got a nice day off. There was a rally at night, sadly I couldn’t make it, but I heard it was really fun. Each grade level was supposed to dress up according to their class color. I watched a short clip of the rally, and a few lucky people got to run in huge-blow-up hamster balls…now that would’ve been fun. Maybe I’ll ask for one for Christmas๐Ÿค”

Thursday…๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ

This had to have been my favorite theme day. It was generations day. Freshman dressed up as babies, sophomores as teeny boppers, juniors as business people, and seniors as senior citizens. It was so funny to see all of the dedicated grade levels going all out in their themes. For teeny boppers, I wore some hippie-like leg warmers that were actually part of my sister’s old tap dance costume. My mom said that leg warmers were popular back in the 50s-60s so I just took her word for it.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

fullsizerender-5

Friday…ย ๐Ÿ’š

The last day of spirit week was a lot of fun. It was PALY pride day, so everyone was supposed to wear green and white(the PALY colors). I saw some really spirited costumes, and I’m probably biased but I think that sophomores were best dressed for PALY pride. What can I say? We’re just a spirited class.

Not only was there a lunch rally, but there was also an after school rally too! This was by far the most exciting one because we got to see each grade level’s spirit dance. All of the dances were supposed to relate back to class themes, and so the sophomore dance revolved around the idea of fire and emergencies. Last year I didn’t participate in the dance, but it looked really fun, so I decided to try it this year. We had to practice almost everyday starting three weeks before spirit week. All of the classes wanted to make their dance really good. For the sophomore dance, we included songs like Fireball, Fire Burning, and Girl On Fire. That was another perk of our theme: there were so many good songs that had to do with fire. I really really liked being able to participate in the dance, and I think that it came together really well. Even though I’m almost sure that got 50% of the dance moves wrong(I didn’t know a lot of it๐Ÿ˜…), I think that it was a really great opportunity for our grade level to come together in unity.

Videos in courtesy of The Paly Voice

Posted in: Fun

Leave a Reply

